Guildhall School of Music

Composition masters students, June 2020

The original project was for six Masters Composition students writing for a six piece ensemble. Discussing with the Guildhall we decided the numbers provided a perfect opportunity for each composer to work more intensively with one musician and create a solo piece. Composers were allocated a performer by the highly technical drawing of names from a hat and each composer had numerous consultations through video link to learn about the instrument in more detail and get feedback as the piece developed. Some also used electronics, mixed the musicians recordings with other material and others really explored the limits of just the instrument. As musicians we found this a rewarding and inspiring way to work.

Erchao Gu: Two Lines and a Refrain About Homecoming

Aisha Orazbayeva, violin

Joanna Ward: Before/beyond (a page in a book)

Mark Knoop, piano/synthesiser

Anna Semple: They Don’t Bounce They Skim

Vicky Wright, bass clarinet

Alex Mills: Nearly Nothing

Joseph Richards, percussion